Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hanewinckel owners, please speak up.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SharkB8, Aug 22, 2002.

1. SharkB8

SharkB8

May 29, 2002
    NorCal
    Hello all.
    I have a few questions, esp. for the Hanewinckel owners out there. Let me give you some background and maybe you all can help me out with a my future purchase.

I currently play a 5 string Cirrus (maple/alder) that I am considering selling to pave the way for a new bass. I am also going to be selling a g**tar as well....anyway, I play mostly contemporary gospel and christian music as well as fusion stuff on the side. I am starting to get play time with Nationally known artists, and play at area churches in front of about 6k people per week. I have been a guitarist/keys/horns guy for about 20 years and bass is still fairly new (only about 2 years actively). Still, I have a very good handle on the bass (I don't play it like a g**tar) and my wife says I'm a born bass player (which would maybe explain why all the calls I am getting are leaning more to bass than guitar now). I have several custom guitars and understand the difference between a custom made instrument and a production line one. I understand the subtle differences that can amount into a world of difference in the type of sounds and things you can achieve. As I said before, I know a lot about g**tars, but have not had tons of experience with different bass manufacturers (the Cirrus is my 1st bass).

Also, being that finding a Hanie in stock somewhere is next to impossible, it makes it difficult to purchase without playing.

I am going to Bass Quake next month and wondering if anyone will be bringing their Hanie there, and wouldn't mind me checking it out.

Also, I hear a lot about MTD and have seen that a lot of players prefer them.