Hanging by the Rack Ears?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Sutton, Apr 11, 2005.

1. Sutton

Mar 3, 2005
    Plainwell, MI
    I'm new to the Rack scene, and I recently purchases a 6 U Rack from Carvin, basically, I just need to know if I simply hang my head by the rack ears. I have a Kustom Groove head, and it is pretty heavy, I dont want to end up with a broken rack or something. Is there some rails or something that I should buy?
  2. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    It's not a bad idea. Often they'll just run one strap - like a perforated steel band - from one rear-corner of the chassis to somewhere on the top or top-side of the rack box.

3. Both the rack and the rack gear are designed to hold the weight, but in extreme circumstances (like dropping the thing), it's possible that both the rails or rack ears could be tweaked. I rack both my Mesa 400+ (55 lbs) and my Carvin DCM 1500 (about 30 lbs), but I put them on the bottom of their respective racks and tape rubber feet under them as sort of a cushion. It doesn't really help if I put the rack upside down, but in it's normal orientation, it takes quite a bit of stress off the front rack rails.
  4. Sutton

Mar 3, 2005
    Plainwell, MI
    ok, I was just a bit concerned, thats all
  5. Jerrold Tiers

Jerrold Tiers

Nov 14, 2003
    St Louis
    These days, rack units tend to be one or two "spaces" tall. Naturally, to get the "stuff" inside, this tends to make them deeper.

Many manufacturers, including us, will provide rear "ears" or another place to put rear support. If you gig a lot, its a good idea to use the supports.

You can't expect a single space unit that may be ten inches or more deep to be fully supported from the front rail. There is a lot of leverage on the screws and rack ears.