1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hard Attack style= pain?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by LowEnder2112, Feb 20, 2008.

1. okay, so I attack the strings. i try to go for the Geddy sound, without the nail method, so i use 2-3 fingers but i attack the strings from higher up and swing down really hard to get a really growly, cutting tone. so i have massive calass of course, but what i noticed is that if i practice hard one day, the next 1-2 days will still hurt from before when i try to play. lately my bands been getting gigs more often and I imagine pain in the fingers constantly might cause problems. i've tried putting adhesive tape on my fingers, but eventually it peels off and gets sticky on the finger/ string. Is there anyway to help stop the pain? or is it normal for it to hurt alot for the first couple of years? (ive been playing like this for about 8 months)

2. PocketGroove82

PocketGroove82

Oct 18, 2006
    Chicago
    If I were you I would try to find the least amount of right hand attack needed to produce the sound you are after. Cranking the amp and using the lightest touch possible is so much better than killing yourself, trying to fight guitars night after night. I'm sure you can find a balance, after all, Geddy is 4 times your age and he can gig nights on end.

3. Try plucking along a vertical plane, not horizontal and into the bass, but vertical. Your fingers shouldn't make contact with the string below it. You'll use your thumb for muting the strings below.

Very few people do this. Janek, Tony Grey, Matt G... I've just adopted it. The sound is so much more clear and focused. But 'tis a pain until you've got the hang of it.

4. is it ever possible to eventually grow enough calass to not feel the pain as much? :/