Hardest song u've ever played

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by bb_boy68, Jul 10, 2001.

1. I was wanting to know what song by what band do u think has the hardest part for bass? I'm just a beginner (11 mths) but mine is Tommy the Cat by Primus. So, what's urs?
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I was given an original song from a local Jazz pro, with a written bassline in 15/4 and I just could not get it. Eventually I programmed it into my Roland microcomposer (sequencer) and after a week of playing along to it, I managed to do it - now I can do it at the drop of a hat, but really have no use for it. ;)
  3. FunkSlapRumblefish

FunkSlapRumblefish Guest

May 23, 2000
    Charlotte, NC
    "Me and My Bass Guitar" by Victor Wooten has some tapping that I can't nail. I try all the time to get the right speed but I usually can't play the song right when I go that fast. I guess I'll keep on practicing, since (as some people say) "practice makes perfect" :rolleyes: :D

4. 5156246

Sep 6, 2000
    "Lessons in love" once.
    I didn't feel my thumb any more, after hours of practicing it.

But today I can play it without trouble.
    Yes, practice is half the life.
  5. The hardest song I am trying to learn is by Slayer-Angel of death. Not too hard on the note part but the speed is so god damn hard it is discusting
  6. Donna Lee! It´s easy if you play it slow but if you try to do it as Jaco did...you burn your fingers!
  7. victor wootens classical thump, I don't think anyone who has seen the sheet music (not the tabs) will disagree that this may be the hardest bass line ever. Please tell me if there is a harder one I would love to take a year off and learn it.
  8. Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    i tried to play that, so then after the first 2 measures i said, "**** this!!!"