Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke 2000 vs Ashdown MAG-300

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by flexo, May 3, 2005.

1. flexo

flexo

May 3, 2005
    Perth, Australia
    Hey,

I'm a guitarist that dabbles in bass and at present i'm looking for a bass amp so i can actually hear my bass! I want to get something that can keep up with a band and i am more than likely going to get one of the amps in the title thread.
    (I am in Australia, which means all bass/guitar gear is a hell of a lot more expensive than over in the US, so i will probably get a friend to buy through avatar and than send it to me here.)

I have played a friends Hartke 3500 combo and i thought it was pretty decent, though i didnt have time to muck around with the settings. I have read the reviews on HC and both amps seem to have very favourable reviews.
    On the HC forum however, the Ashdown seems to be favoured over the Hartke models.
    The Ashdown is slightly more expensive ($278 vs $197). Is it worth the extra money over the Hartke? What are the differences in sound between the two?

If it helps, at present i have an OLP MM-2, which i will probably upgrade next year. In terms of bass tone, i really like the tone that Dirk Lance from Incubus gets on the morning view cd/dvd. :bassist:

2. Roundwound

Roundwound

May 13, 2004
    Peoria, IL
    I own a Hartke 2000, but I've never tried the Mag. One of the significant differences between the two is wattage. You will get more watts with the Mag (307w) vs. the Hartke 2000(200w@4ohms). Although the 2000 can get loud, the Mag will stay with a loud band better. I'm thinking your wattage needs are the most important factor in this purchase.