1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Hartke 2500 amp question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by luigirox, Apr 2, 2013.

1. luigirox

luigirox

Apr 1, 2013
    I need to get cab for a ha2500 this I new to this whole thing so any help would be great. I would like to get the most out of it and not break the bank. Can some give me some good idea on what to pair it with? I would like to be around 200 dollars.
    I am new to this so sorry if I ask dumb questions,
    Do I need the horn speaker?
    Is 2 10 better than 1 15 or 410? I have know Idea-
    Anyone running a ha2500 what setup?
    Will this be ok for small gigs?

2. You would be best to go with a 410 or 215 but a quality cab even used will be a challenge for only $200.00 The HA2500 is only 250 watts with a 4 ohm load, less with a 8 ohm load. You need speaker area with lower powered amp heads.

3. coyote1

coyote1

Mar 23, 2012
    Check the used market. You should be able to score a good 4x10 in good shape for $150 or so. The Hartke amps are underrated IMO. They are clear, versatile.... and loud.

EDIT: guess I've just been lucky. In checking Craigslist, most folk are not selling in that price range.

4. I have an HA2500 and use it with a Hartke Transporter 4x10 which at 8 ohms matches the head well. Hartke no longer makes Transporters as you will to find one used and you may be able to find one used, if you look and keep looking. eBay, craigslist, the classifieds here at TalkBass.

5. The best used $200 and under 4-10s I've personally played and liked have been the Peavey TVX-410 and SWR Workingman's 410T.

The HA2500 is a very nice little amp, should do fine in smaller gigs with enough speaker :cool:

6. luigirox

luigirox

Apr 1, 2013
    should I try to get a 4ohm cab or 8