Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke 4000 settings

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Rumzini, Mar 17, 2004.

1. Rumzini

Rumzini

Feb 14, 2004
    Jackson, MI
    I'm kinda new at thie bass thing...just started almost a year ago. I have the above metioned head. I seem to be happy with it but I sometimes get overwhelmed at how much control it has. Does anyone have this head that may have some sweet tone settings they may care to give up or show in a pic??? I'm into all music...but what seems to be in my CD player lately is Mudvayne, TOOL, Perfect Circle, Primus, Audioslave, SYL...a lot of heavy stuff I guess.

Don Rumsey

2. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI
    I have the same head and while I could fill you in on how I set mine up, it is just too dependent on your bass and speaker cab(s) to be of much use to you.

However, one thing I think you should take note of. Be very careful not to boost the D-BASS too much. It is meant for the low frequencies of a low B string and only requires slight adjustments. Too much and you could blow your speakers.

Also, you really need to play around with the parametric mids alot to find the sweet spot for each (Lo and Hi mids). What I did was dial in a particular frequency and then boost and/or cut it all the way to really see what effect that particular frequency does to your sound. Once you find the "offending" frequency, it's just a matter of personal preference as to how much you want to cut it, or boost others.

Also, Try to start with everything flat and "cut" rather than boost frequencies. If, when it's flat, you find you need more low frequencies, try cutting the mids a little first rather than boosting the lows. It's more a matter of cutting the frequency that is "covering" what frequency you want to hear rather than boosting what you can't hear.

3. Rumzini

Rumzini