Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke + Aluminum = ??????

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mikarre, Jun 21, 2004.

1. mikarre

mikarre Guest

I'm looking for some info on the Hartke XL410 cabs with the aluminum drivers. Not so much about sound, I will decided that for myself, but just about things like reliability, maintenance, etc. I guess the bottom line is if I try this cab out and I like it my only decision would then be the problems associated with aluminum cones. So, what are the problems, if any, with aluminum cones and should this weigh in my decision? Also, will the cab handle a 5 string and are the aluminum cones more likely to be damaged under the stress of the low B?

I'm in the process of putting a rig together. The amp I have decided on is the Hartke 5500. I have some experience with the 3500 and I liked it a lot. Now I am trying to match a cab with it. If I don't go with the Hartke XL cab I will next look at Avatar, which seems to have a whole other set of problems associated (cant handle low notes ???, only available online, etc). Genz Benz is on my list too, since I've used them before, but I cant seem to find anyone around here who stocks them anymore. Picking a cab seems like it's going to be a big headache. :spit:

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    I used Hartke aluminum cones for about 8 years, the XL series. There are some non-sonic issues pertaining to the unique materials.