Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bluerskiesburnt, Apr 2, 2004.

1. alright I'm a starting musician on a tight budget I need a cab i was recommened the Hartke as some of the best bass cabs around. I'm pretty poor i've got about $350 maybe $400 if I save. i was wondering which cab was best? I play punk, but want the flexibility to play almost anything. THe head I'm going to buy is a Behringer BX3000T. Thats going to be apart of that 400 bucks. I've checked out avatar cabs recommended but anything below the open low E is pretty muddy.

-Justin

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    My experience, Hartke is no better than Avatar with the low E and below. Hartke is not considered "the best" by a long shot, especially the regular paper-coned speakers, though some prefer the sound of the Hartke aluminum speakers. Many would argue that "the best" cabs include Accugroove, Bergantino, EA, Eden, Aguilar, etc., but those are very, very pricey at a thousand dollars and up per cab.

Hartke is a decent, lower-priced cab, but for the same quality Avatar is cheaper. For your budget, you really can't go wrong with Avatar. At your budget point, you can't be too picky, you might want to check out "used" cabinets, perhaps even Peaveys which tend to be prevalent on the used market.

3. Well I got a hartke Vx410 for 200 bucks not bad eh?

4. jobu3

jobu3 Artist formerly known as Big Joe

Feb 17, 2002
    Mountain Top, PA
    Anything below the E on a Hartke VX is not muddy... It's non-existant! At least after a few low notes at any usable volume, when the speakers tear from their webbing. :meh:

5. Sundogue

Sundogue

Apr 26, 2001
    Wausau, WI