Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke Cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by dalley, Jul 6, 2005.

1. dalley

dalley

Jul 6, 2005
    Phoenix
    I guess it's no suprise that the current XL 4X10's @ 400 watts are better then the cheaper Transporter series 4X10's.

I have an opportunity to pick up an older XL 4X10 which is rated at 240 watts or a newer model Transporter 4X10 for the same price.

My question is if the older XL models, although a lower wattage, are still better quality overall than the Transporters??????

Thanks

2. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member

Sep 21, 2001
    Columbus OH
    Even an old XL is better than a new Tranporter, IF it is in good condition.

3. OMG yes by a long shot. I've been playing through a couple old XL cabs for about 10 years. They're built like tanks and sound incredible. Pretty hard to beat IMHO.

4. poundround

poundround

Mar 8, 2005
    Lynchburg VA
    Well for one thing Hartke is now made in China. So all their old products are better.

5. dalley

dalley

Jul 6, 2005
    Phoenix
    thats all I needed to know ... thanks guys!

6. acexxxoasis

acexxxoasis

Apr 12, 2005
    new hartke is teh suxors :p
    my 2.5 XL was supposed to be a good 2x10 but one of the speakers is blowing out the tweeter sound like poop and just hisses anymore and the stupid hartke badge fell off... well its not all bad its smart I guess. lol
    but I would stray away from ANY new hartke product.

7. Trevorus

Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    I have an old hartke 410xl, and I am in love with it. I got a supreme deal on it, and I probably will never sell it.

8. Aj*

Aj*

Jun 14, 2005
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I have a 410 tp and it doesn't suck, didn't have the money for an XL at the time, will redeem myself with a 115XL sometime soon :p.

9. Eric Moesle

Eric Moesle Supporting Member