Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke KickBack 12 vs. the KickBack 15

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by raycer, Apr 11, 2004.

1. raycer

raycer

Mar 22, 2004
    Orange County, NY
    Hi everybody.

I would like to get an amp that would be good enough to play in a 20-40 foot room. I just started learning about a month and a half ago but my little Ibanez 10W isn't really that good other than being less than 4 feet away from it :)

I went looking at some larger 50-100 Watt units and a couple of people told me that the Hartke kickbacks are good for the price and I noticed a few people here seem to have them or there non kickback counterparts.

My question is, for the music I like would the 15 or the 12 give better sound. Accordng to one of the guys at the shop I was at, the 15 is deeper but the 12 is a bit more tighter.

I mainly like to learn and play Metal, like Metallica, Priest, Sabbath, Zombie, and a bit of 80's music. Which would you recommend of the two, or do you know of another in a similar price range (300-450)

Did a search but didn't find anything about this, so thanks for the help :bassist:

2. JOME77

JOME77 Supporting Member

Aug 18, 2002
    Georgia
    I used a Kickback 10 and 12 at a church a few years ago. I tried out the 15 model but it was just large and didn't sound as tight as the 12 (fairly loose sounding). I'd say go with the 12 model. You also might want to look for a used SWR Workingmans 12. IMO it's a much better sounding amp. Fairly portable and you can play at decent volumes (for an amp that size). Look for a good used one (much better deal).

3. raycer

raycer

Mar 22, 2004
    Orange County, NY
    Thanks for the reply :)

4. Arranger

Arranger

Mar 9, 2003
    Pennsylvania