1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hartke LH1000 with HyDrive 810... Weird anomaly

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by TheRigere, Apr 25, 2015.

1. TheRigere

TheRigere

Dec 17, 2005
    Central Florida
    or they just don't like Stranglehold lol.. Anyway I've been playing this rug for a few years..love it to death...never has a hint of issue until now. It has happened three times in three different venues..two outside once inside. I'll be about three minutes in on the song and the cab cuts off. I don't know if it's a cabinet issue or amp speaker output issue cause the signal from the DI still crank in the PA and monitors. It last about a minute or two then comes back on and fine the rest of the night.

The only thing I could assume was heat. The club was hot as pepper pudding and both outside gigs were warm but not blistering. I cleaned out the intake fan and removed the exhaust screen on the amp to increase airflow no help. Any ideas? Do I have a jacked up cab or speaker output? Could it be the speak on cable? It never happens or any song besides Strangelhold, which is usually fourth or fifth song of first set and then is fine for the night. Thoughts?

2. middy

middy

Mar 14, 2007
    Texas
    Reseat or replace the preamp tube, maybe?

Have you tried a different speaker cable?

3. Maybe play the rig instead of the rug ? ;)
    Try dropping the bass control some for the song, could be overloading the output section kicking in the error control mute?

Maybe move that song to the second set so the amp loses its laziness? :D

Last edited: Apr 26, 2015
    TheRigere likes this.
  4. I don't know the tune. Most likely overheat protection kicking in per B-string. Presumably you are pushing the cab as hard as possible with the 1000w which probably means your low EQ is under control already or your cab would be tearing up cones.