Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hartke Model 3500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DryWater'Bass, Dec 15, 2001.

1. Hey, guys a little help, being a student, I'm looking for an in-expensive cabinet, I'm currently planning to use a Hartke 3500(350@4 & 240@8).What kind of full range cabinet can you guys suggest?

2. Bass-only

Bass-only Supporting Member

Oct 9, 2001
    Cleveland
    You've got a nice start with the 3500. I used one for several years. Lots of volume and tone shaping.

If you're playing moderate to loud (and you only want one cab) get a 4-10 cab.

I would suggest either a used SWR Golliath, or Eden 210T - or (for the money) I hear the Carvin cabs aren't bad.

Keep in mind, if you start with something less that a SWR or Eden, you're going to get one (or it's equivalent) eventually. I'm sure there's some other decent stuff I haven't mentioned, but SWR and Eden is what I've personally used and recommend.

Good luck! (get a good speaker and guitar cable also!).

3. For the money it's hard to beat the Carvin RL410 and the Peavey 410TX and 410TVX.Both these cabinets give you pro tone for about half what the big(SWR-EDEN)names cost.I've owned both the Carvin and Peavey 410s and it's a toss-up which sounds better.I like the Carvins mid-bass and highs a little better and it still sounds pretty deep.The Peaveys have a deeper bottom and would be a good choice if you use a 5-string.The Carvin weighs about 20lbs.less(72lbs.)while the Peavey TX weighs 90lbs and the TVX 95lbs.The Carvin cab and the PeaveyTX are 8 ohm while the PeaveyTVX comes in 4ohm.