Hartke XK-4 Bass- Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SMaulick, Dec 24, 2002.

1. SMaulick

SMaulick Guest

Hello TalkBass forum- this would happen to be my first post to your forum, so please keep your flames on low! :p

I've been playing bass for about 5+ years now, and I use a Fender P-Bass Special, Mexican, with both the split P-J and Jazz pickups, and no real mods to it. I love the sounds I get out of this guitar, and even though it's not an American Fender, I don't think I can part with it. I also recently acquired a Jazz mexi fretless, w/ a Badass2 bridge for dirt cheap, which has such a warm and mellow tone. I enjoy playing both of these guitars greatly, but I recently had the chance to snag a Hartke XK-4 bass, the model 1 step down from the NJ-built XL-4, so I took it. You wouldn't believe the price I got it for, brand new. Here's a picture:

The sound and attack on this guitar are excellent, especially running off of the neck pickups, and I like the room between the neck and the neck pickup- plenty of room for some popping and slapping without pickup interference. I REALLY like the Aluminum headstock and chrome everything- very sharp looking!

My question is this- has anyone seriously looked at the Hartke Vaccaro-neck guitars for one of their basses? If so, what were your thoughts? Personally, I like it very much, and it's OK if others do not because they won't get the chance to play it anyway. (it's MINE!!) :D I do value your opinions about them though, and I wonder if any of you would like to comment about this guitar. This was the first time I saw one up close and in person, and it just jumped out at me and said, "Buy Me!" so I did.

Thanks for reading, and please post away, should you feel like it. Thanks!
  2. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses