Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Has anyone here ever changed their music style drastically?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Doryan, Sep 13, 2002.

1. I played (tried to) metal bass for 3 years now, and some say it works out for me.

But I just had a opportunity to form a fusion band. Wich is a style that I became interested in by being a bassist, and jazz also. And I love playing fretless, wich I can't apply in metal.

I was wondering: did anyone else changed drasticly to another style ? How did that work out ?

2. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I've been doing metal for about 5 years, ranging from full throttle death metal to crappy Nu-Metal (guess which one came first?) and now I'm starting to do funk stuff.

3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

I started out in heavy metal cover bands, went to original nu-metal/hardcore then moved on to blues covers. I feel each change brought me much that was new, refreshing and challenging. Each style was fun for its own reasons. It took time to "get into" blues, but I wouldn't trade that experience for the world.

4. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000