1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Has gigging turned any of your basses into closet queens?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by IotaNet, Apr 30, 2009.

1. I am not the consummate gear whore/GAS king but I have spent some time trying to be one. I started playing bass a few years ago but never played out. I was happy in "Madison Square Living Room." ;) Last year, I started playing as the backup bassist with my church choir and all of that changed.

Our choir plays a LOT. In any given month, we may play 4-5 "away from the church" engagements -- and I end up playing on a lot of them. After a year of this, I've discovered some interesting things about my bass collection and the realities of playing.

As you can see, I have some nice basses that are pretty versatile. The champ however, has turned out to be the Bongo. One of the things about playing in different churches is that you don't know what you're going to have to deal with until you get there. And quite often, we don't bring our own bass amp, so we get stuck playing through whatever happens to be there.

Over the past months, no matter how bad the accoustics, no matter how crappy the sound system, no matter how strange the setup, my Bongo has always come through. I really think that it's all about the the 4-band, 18V preamp in this bass. I can EQ this thing to get just about any tone I want/need.

Need some pillowy bottom? Cool.
    Need some in-your-face-thump? Got it.
    Need some cut-through-the-mix mids? No problem.

About the ONLY thing I can't get it to do is that high-end sizzly SPLANK (Think Marcus Miller Jazz) that could be useful sometimes but that's more of a slappers tone and that's not my deal. That said, if I put some DR High-Beams on it, I could probably get that too.