1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Has playing bass helped you also become a better guitarist?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MakoMan, Jun 5, 2014.

1. MakoMan

MakoMan

Oct 17, 2011
    Ottawa, Canada
    I ask this question because lately I find myself longing to go back and play a bit of guitar. First of all I am one who freely admits I started playing bass because I was a pretty mediocre guitarist (and I am being kind LOL!). Bass was a revelation for me, and while I am still not John Entwistle, it has allowed me to go further with an instrument than I ever could before.
    Lately I have found an urge to start playing guitar again. And despite not having played a guitar since I switched to bass 2-1/2 years ago I find I can pick up a guitar and play it better than I ever could when I did play regularly. For one thing I have much better timing and sense of rhythm. And secondly, I find myself naturally fingerpicking, which I never did when I played guitar. I still remember all the chords and most of the patterns. but everything just seems cleaner and more natural now than my previous ham-fisted guitar playing. I still kinda suck, but I suck less...
    I have no urge to switch back from bass, but it is nice to pick up a guitar to play around the campfire now and then. Also plan to occasionally switch from bass to 12 string for a couple of songs for the acoustic duo I play in. It should give us a little more versatility on our playlist.
    Anyway, I was curious as to whether others have found that learning to play the bass has also led them back to guitar.

2. I never played guitar. Fell in love with bass and that's all I played. Mostly classic rock and blues with a bit of other things in the mix. Guitar didn't call to me. Thinking of taking it up now at the ripe old age of 56!

Sartori likes this.