Has playing bass "opened" your ears?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Albino_Ryno, Sep 5, 2001.

1. Albino_Ryno

Albino_Ryno Guest

Sep 17, 2000
    Knoxville TN
    Before I started playing bass I only liked Hard Rock or Heavy Metal. I mean, I really disliked Rap, R&B, jazz, classical, blues, or anything. But after I started playing bass not only did I begin to fully realize just what the instrument did but I began to have a greater understanding of how music really "worked". Then I started opening up to all kinds of music. Funk, Jazz, Blues, R&B,... everything started appealing to me. I would listen to songs that I hated before but now when I listened to them they had a completely different perspective. Playing bass has really opened my ears to alot of different musical styles but I realize that none of my guitar playing buddies(who started playing about the same time as me) share this type of logic. They all still seem to be "closed minded" to music. Is this a phenomenon that happens only in bass players or does it just depend on a person to person basis? Let me know what you guys think.
  2. I totally agree with your post... I used to like rock, and alternative and a bit of some other stuff, now I love FUNK, punk, disco, jazz, SKA, good R&B (which can be tough to find), and I have only been playing a year... I agree with the guitarist thing too, my friends like to call themselves one specific type ie.. metal guitarist and such.... I think it is because bass holds the same role in most music and a good bass player just sounds good no matter what else (guitar, drum, keys,...) is going on... which makes one look at great bass lines from the musical spectra. Guitar on the other hand is a completely different tool from funk to punk... think rythmic wah usage on funk, and raging melody distortion on punk.... You catch my Drift???

3. Bass Guitar

Bass Guitar Supporting Member

Aug 13, 2001