Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Have any bassists used the Touch Technique.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Skull, Nov 11, 2000.

1. Skull

Skull

Nov 10, 2000
    I'm thinking finger tapping like Jazz guitarist Stanley Jordon NOT finger tapping like Eddie Van Halen.
    I'm sure someone has I just don't know. Could someone fill me in? Thanks.

2. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Stuart Hamm has done a few songs that way, although it's not his only technique, the way it is for Jordan.

3. Skull

Skull

Nov 10, 2000
    Could you tell me which songs? Much obliged! :)

4. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    I'm no Hamm expert; that said, he did do a cool version of "Linus & Lucy".
    Too, Michael Manring uses the "touch" method.

I have seen Jordan live; he did come up with something new/different by applying piano "technique" to the guitar neck.
    Plus, he does a Helluva Hendrix & Shankar impression.

5. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

JimK has already mentioned his version of Linus and Lucy, another that I can remember was his arrangement of Beethoven's 'Moonlight Sonata' on the Radio Free Albemuth album.

6. Erlendur Már

Erlendur Már

May 24, 2000
  7. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY