Have any of you attended a Kansas concert?

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by IMMusicRulz, Jul 23, 2021.

1. IMMusicRulz

IMMusicRulz Commercial User

Aug 3, 2020
    Atlanta, GA
    I am a semi-professional musician
    Before I get to posting, I would like to dedicate this thread to the memory of Kansas violinist Robby Steinhardt, who died on Monday.

As much as they were scorned by critics, Kansas was a pretty good rock band. Kerry Livgren was a great keyboardist composer and guitarist, and Robby Steinhardt was as mentioned earlier, an excellent violinist.
    And Dave Hope—his bass playing on Song For America is fantastic.
    I own the live 2 record set Two For The Show and the album Monolith. I also had Leftoverture several years ago, and chucked that.

But I have heard that Kansas was a pretty good live band. Most of the members live in Atlanta (which I find cool because I live in ATL) even though Kerry Livgren recently moved to South Dakota from Atlanta. My parents are huge fans of Kansas, Heart, Styx, REO Speedwagon.

But if you have any experience attending a Kansas concert please let me know.

2. 4SG

4SG

Mar 6, 2014
    I only saw them once but it was this show and they killed it:

3. bluesblaster

bluesblaster

Jan 2, 2008
    Saw them about 75, I think they were touring behind SFA that had come out the year before, and of course they kicked ass. Saw them open for Queen when they did the Night at the Opera tour (Bohemian Rhapsody) maybe like 76 or 77 , that was along time ago. It was also the opening night of the tour for Queen so probably first live performance of Bohemian Rhapsody in the US maybe, at any rate both bands were great and kicked ass :thumbsup::thumbsup:

4. bluesblaster

bluesblaster

Jan 2, 2008

one of my faves by these guys

5. Michedelic

Michedelic MId-Century Modern