Have any of you quit a band because it was hindering your development

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tycobb73, May 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. tycobb73

tycobb73

Jul 23, 2006
    Grand Rapids MI
    I joined a band a few weeks ago. Switched off between guitar and bass. I'm not very good at guitar and was taking lessons. Had to stop lessons to focus on this band. It took all my time to try to learn the guitar parts. I would watch YouTube to learn the parts, not knowing the theory behind what I was doing. Just trying my hardest to get the song down, whether my technique was good or not. Rehearsal wasn't fun. My parts weren't up to my standards. They wanted to play 4 sets of covers with a few originals sprinkled in. I was fine with this as long as the originals were danceable. He'd bring me his folk originals with bass lines that sounded good but didn't have a danceable groove. He'd want to do live versions of popular songs that would bring a dance floor to a stop. I tried to explain to him many times the difference between an audience wanting to dance and an audience there to hear your originals. I told him I didn't like a folk song about Indians and I didn't think itd go over well with our other stuff, which was a lot of 80s synth pop. I told him he should find other people to play festivals with. I don't care if someone is in 2 bands as long as those bands aren't similar.