Have prolbems with holding the frets

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by imarley66, Feb 26, 2003.

1. imarley66

Jul 14, 2002
    Ewa Beach, HI
    Well I am new to playing the bass, just started to learn. I am learning on DVD, and I am having a problems with holding the frets,

I have a four string bass, the problem is the four finger and slidding up and down the neck.

Has anyone had this prolbem, and what did you do???
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Get a teacher - it is much easier to give advice when you can actually see what the person (i.e. you!) is actually doing - when they are in front of you.

You have found the big disadvantage of learning by DVD - the DVD is not looking at you and seeing what you are doing, where you are having trouble etc. ;)
  3. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Not really TAB related, so off to technique this goes...
  4. If you're new to bass, then your finger strength isn't going to be as developed as those who have played for a long time. Therefore, it is expected that it will take you a while to build up the dexterity etc. Just keep plucking away and if you have the time and money, get a teacher. If not for anything else but to correct your technique so to avoid pain and injury later in life (and hey, the improvement in your playing ain't half bad either!).

The most important thing is that if you are teaching yourself (which you are, essentially) then you need to get a mirror next to your DVD player so that you can watch yourself as well as the proper technique. This way you can compare what you are doing to what you should be doing. If you're not going to get a teacher, then you have to be the teacher for yourself and make sure that you're fully aware of what good technique looks and, more importantly, sounds like!

5. holding the frets? how do you hold a fret in the first place? You have to take the fret out to hold it...