Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Have You Ever Lost It...?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Nancy-Boy, Jul 2, 2002.

1. Nancy-Boy

Nancy-Boy

Sep 16, 2001
    For the past couple of days i have been more than a bit frustrated...to the point of nearly swearing very loud on my bass and myself...

Have any of you guys and gurls picked up your bass and found wot u could play yesterday you cant play today...?..

For example.. i learnt how to play music of the mind one of stuart Zender's greatest moments..could i play it the next day..nopes..and ive tried and tired but it like all my techniques that i use i cant do..ive lost my rhythmn and my timing and starting to think that actaully i am a very very bad bass player and that ppl round me are just saying i am a great bassist just to be nice...its frustrating cause i know i can play and i know slapping and harmonic prgressions are something i can do..but when u cant because ur hands and ur brain and ur bass collide..its a real put off...:(

2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    This happens to me too every few months or so.
    Sometimes it helps to get away from the bass for a few days.

3. thrash_jazz

thrash_jazz

Jan 11, 2002
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Artist: JAF Basses, Circle K Strings
    I think we all have our suck days. Don't let it get you down - roll with the punch and hit it again later! :)

4. Ian Hall

Ian Hall

May 31, 2002
    Rialto,CA
    Even if it is just psychological, restringing and action adjustment can help me sometimes. Kinda gives a new feel to the bass- so you're not stuck in a rut. Try playing different basses, too. Every time I play a different bass for a while I pick up a new technique.

5. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin