Have you ever made a mistake? (Pardon my pity party)

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Tim Barber, Jun 19, 2003.

1. Tim Barber

Tim Barber Commercial User

Apr 28, 2003
    Serenity Valley
    Owner: Barber Music
    WARNING: shameless self-indulgent blubbering ahead. Stop reading immediately!

[pity party] If you have seen some of my other recent posts, you'll know I am an "occasional free time" bass builder. I love to do it, and although I am not trying to make a living at it, I think that if I could sell a custom handmade bass here and there it would be pretty cool. But...sometimes I get really frustrated trying to do a professional job. My background is in musical instrument repair, so I know what a good job looks like. But it seems like there is always something that goes wrong and I have to figure out how to fix it, or hide it, or change my design to make it go away, and I'm not satisfied with the results. I know it's a learning process, but, but, but....why should a control cavity cover be so hard to make fit decently? Aaarrghh. [/pity party]

"Dear Lord, give me the gift of patience and do it RIGHT NOW!!!"

At least it's not as bad as the time I drilled the hole for the pickup leads at the wrong angle and came out the front of the bass. :eek: :mad:

So anyway, if any of you established builders/luthiers have ever built something that didn't come out right, or made a silly mistake along the way of learning this craft, please massage my bruised ego and tell the tale! ;) :D
  2. Nah!, never made a mistake - ever! :rolleyes:

It's not so hard to figure out where most of my mistakes come from. The list of causes is short but starts and ends with me. Usually it's either impatience or poor planning that become the catalyst for my errors. Throw into that the occasional dull blade, high humidity, and inexperience with new materials and that about covers it.