1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Have you ever played a gig with provided backline olny to hve it used against you?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Michael Case, Sep 22, 2008.

1. Long story short, I started playing in a band with some old buddies. We played a three gigs, I brought my rig to two of the three. The last gig was in a place with a backline, they had an 8X10 and all I needed was a bass and head which I brought. Just recently things feel apart and I was told I wasn't good to be in a band anymore and one of the reasons stated was not bringing gear to gigs. Now I live on the fourth floor of a four story walk up and if I bring gear I have to drive, so of course the chance I had to NOT carry my rig I was taking it.

Have any of you experienced this?

2. Yes, once, as a teenager (19 and 11/12ths haha) filling in for a friend. I got told I wouldn't be called in again because like you, I relied on a backline being present and brought little gear of my own.

Today I run my own band and I bring spare everything, just in case. It's a good habit to get into, even if its a hassle most of the time.

If the only reason was the gear, try calling them back and explaining you made a mistake in assuming you didn't need to bring gear, and in future you will check with your bandmates what gear you should bring. And don't mention the stairs thing. That's not their problem and everyone sacrifices things to making being in a band work.

If it's only one of many reasons they were probably looking for one more reason and you gave it to them. That's bands, and thats' people.

Good luck next time around.

3. That's a pretty lame excuse. There were probably other issues and they were just using that to make their dismissal of you seem more valid.

4. stylonpilson

stylonpilson

Jun 30, 2008
    Reading, UK