Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

HAVING CHOPS

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Masterbasser71, Jan 25, 2006.

1. It may be the mild depression talking, but how good should a bassist be after playing for 3 years. What's the average bassist supposed to be able to do, how about an above average bassist? I've been playing for 3 years, and I think my chops should be much better.....:crying: . But I don't know what's good. :help:? Somebody wanna enlighten me? :eyebrow:

2. Correlli

Correlli

Apr 2, 2004
    New Zealand
    I've been play bass for 18 years, and I'm still learning new stuff. And there are things that I struggle with too.

3. Slurm

Slurm

Jan 9, 2005
    for chops , you can never do enough practise, good technique practise will dramaticily speed up your progress, playing good practise excersises and focusing on things you cant play. look at jacos modern electric bass and get the book and learn all of the excersises, these excersises will make your fingerstyle extremely efficent. most important thing is to start slow and build up speed, most people neglect this and end up being sloppy. start slow and you'll have better tone, accuracy and rhythm.

4. T-Funk

T-Funk

Jul 2, 2005
    USA
    Only considering the duration of time a person has played the bass is not a good determining factor to conclude how far he or she should progressed. Other factors include:

1) Quality of music instruction
    2) Time dedicated towards practice
    3) What was practiced? (i.e., music theory, ear training, dexterity exercises, sight reading, etc.)
    4) Time dedicated towards playing in a band, group, etc.
    5) Innate attributes

The list goes on and on.

Ted