Having troble finding the right tone

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 43% burnt, Feb 23, 2005.

1. 43% burnt

43% burnt an actor who wants to run the whole show

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    I've been playing bass for almost 3 years. 1 year in a metal band. I picked up a rig about 8 months ago. I found a warm loud tone that I really liked, and stuck with it.

For the new material we are working on I want a tighter, more compressed sound, that still cuts through the insanity of the triple rectifier, and 5150 I play next to.

I play a G&L L2000 (tuned: C-F-A#-D#) through a Trace Elliot GP7SM 250. With a Genz benz 2x10, and a Genz benz 15. The Trace has lots of options for tweaking icluding a 7 band eq. My bass has 2 humbuckers with switchable passive/active modes. I prefer the passive. Would switching to active help me find the tighter sound im looking for?

I know i can get a large array of sounds out of my setup...but i'm not sure how to properly tweak it. Can anyone give me any pointers?
  2. 43% burnt

43% burnt an actor who wants to run the whole show

May 4, 2004
    Bridgeport, CT
    For a live setting, in order to have 2 tones I can switch between, am I better off using an effect pedal to get a tighter sound?
  3. With the G&L L2000 you have a two position in the middle of the three this is the paralel/series switch this will give you leaner or fatter tone depending on which position it is in . This would be an easy solution for two tone switching live.
  4. TheChariot

Jul 6, 2004
    Boston, MA
    Sansamp RBI is a good way to switch tones with a footswitch. I guess you could also just pick up the BDDI instead, but I would recommend converting from the Trace amp, over to an RBI and Power Amp (Judging by your describtion, as well as your forum name ;))