Having trouble playing fretless bass with equal tempered instruments and starting songs out of tune.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Said Bisher, Feb 4, 2021.

1. Hello TB.
    I started playing bass three months ago. I went with a fretless for various reasons. I put in an average of about 20 hours of bass per week, so I haven't exactly made the most of those three months.

With that in mind, here's the challenge I'm facing:
    When playing a song, as I start, the bass doesn't exactly sound "sweet". But as I continue to play it gets "sweeter". I have a few possible explanations for this:

1. When I start playing, I'm dependent on fingerboard (scale, chord,etc) shapes entirely. But as I play over a progression, notes, scales, area of fingerboard etc, I adjust my fretting finger positions appropriately to result in a more just intonation.
    2. When I start playing, I'm out of tune with the other instruments (mostly guitars in backing tracks) and as I play I adjust and play in tune with these instruments (equal tempered).

It usually takes me a few bars (two to six) to get to the "sweet" sound. It used to take much more but this is gradually improving.

I have two questions:
    1. How do I play in tune with a fretted guitar? Because guitars are equal tempered, doesn't it mean that the more in tune I am with the guitar, the less in tune the bass is internally? (i.e intervals sound off) If I play right on the dots which is also just about right according to the tuner, I would imagine that that the intervals on the bass wouldn't sound as "sweet". It would basically be playing equal tempered on a fretless. I assume that there must be some kind of balance? A way of playing "sweet" intervals on the bass while also being in tune with the guitars and other instruments. How do you guys do it? Is it that this balance of being in tune with the guitars while also being in tune "internally" is what my ear interprets as "sweet"?