Having trouble using "arm weight" to finger E string.

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Glorp, May 12, 2018.

1. Glorp

Glorp

Feb 10, 2016
    Victoria BC
    Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to the double bass and am trying to develop good technique now so that I don't have to spend a bunch of time down the road correcting bad habits. I know that you're supposed to use the large muscles in your chest and back to provide most of the force when fingering so that you don't strain your thumb and wrist by squeezing the string down to the fingerboard. This is fine for the A, D, and G strings but I just can't find a way to get the E string to the board this way without the tension rotating the bass away from me. I've recently had the bass set up by a local luthier and he says it plays well so it's not the bass itself that's the problem.
    I've tried to do my due diligence and search the site for any advice on this but couldn't find anything pertaining to this specific problem. Any tips for how to sort this technique out would be much appreciated.

2. How do you play? Standing/sitting
    Bass in front of your vs to the side?

Glorp likes this.
  3. Glorp

Glorp

Feb 10, 2016
    Victoria BC
    Standing with the with corner of the bout resting at about waist level. I've tried sitting while I play but one of the things I love about DB is being able to move around and adjust my posture as needed which I didn't feel like I could do while sitting. It also hurt my lower back.

Attached Files:

4. Les Fret

Les Fret

Sep 9, 2009
    You don’t have to push the E string to the board. Pull the index finger more towards your thumb. A bit like a finger snap. You can also try a little bit rotation movement with your wrist. Also try experimenting with moving your elbow a bit. Hard to put this in words but I hope this helps.