Having trouble with positions

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by The Alexander, Feb 19, 2005.

1. Well, i have been playing electric for a couple months now, and i am trying to learn how to play a double bass. In my high school, the only bassist is a senior, so im thinking i need to learn pretty quick. The only thing i am having trouble with is where the notes are on the fingerboard. I have no idea if they are in roughly the same place as an electric or in different places. Pics would be very helpful. Please help me :help:
  2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    The layout is exactly the same, but everything is much farther apart on the bass. The double bass strings are probably about 6" longer than the slab.

Get yourself a good teacher, and welcome to the Dark Side.
  3. Other than that, take into account that each fret on a BG represents the actual place you put your finger on a fingerboard because your finger is the fret to stop a note. There is a lot more to it with hand position but trying to explain it to you is far outweighed by getting a teacher who can show it to you.
  4. G3,
    find a teacher!

But in the meantime you can find some of the notes (E,A,D,G) on the fingerboard by using the open strings.

With the open E, you can find the octave above on the E string (what would be 12th fret on your guitar), the E octave on the A string (what would be the 7th fret). The E octave on the D string (2nd fret). You get the idea(?)

Nothing better than a teacher though!

5. Check all the Newbie Links at the top of each area. Also spend some time just digging through the threads via the SEARCH function.
  6. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA