1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Head/Cabinet set up question(s)...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by slider_99, Jun 2, 2004.

1. slider_99

slider_99

Sep 10, 2003
    Cambridge, MA
    Hi all,

Although I've been playing bass for a couple of years I've only had to deal with combo amps up until now. So setting up a head and cabinet(s) in all new to me, so if anyone can help me with some basics I'd greatly appreciate it..

Picked up an Ampeg B2R at a great price so now I'm trying to figure out what to use for a cabinet(s)?? The whole 4ohm / 8ohm deal is making me second guess myself. Should I buy a 4x10 4 ohm cab or a 1x15 and a 2x10 stack? But will I lose wattage with the two cabs?

Any feedback will be greatly appreciated....

If it helps, my band plays mostly rock-n-roll along the lines of Aerosmith, Rolling Stones, etc...

Thanks.

2. Personally, I would go with 2 8-ohm cabs. Technically, you would have the same amount of power as the 4-ohm cab, but you might actually seem louder with the 2 8-ohm cabs. Not only that, but you could bring one or the other, intead of always having to bring the 410. I have a 210/115 Avatar set up an I love it. I haven't used a 410, but I hear they sound good. You will have to try out the cabs and see what sounds you like. If you were kinda hell bent on a 410, you could do a 410/115 stack. Anywho, the combinations are seemingly endless.

Also, do a search. Im sure you would have found something of use.

3. Hurley

Hurley

Feb 12, 2004
    Cape Cod, MA