Head+Cabinet vs. Preamp+Poweramp+Cabinet?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by metallicarules, Sep 28, 2002.

1. Well, the title is pretty self explanatory, yet the question is confusing the heck out of me. What exactly are the pros and cons of the two different methods?
    I don't have much money to spend and I'm just an amateur player looking for an amp that has a decent tone and will keep up with the guitars and drums --> loud drummer, 80 & 100 watt marshall guitar amps.
  2. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    well... there are a few of them that I took into consideration before buying a rig.

Pros head + Cab. more portable, less stuff to deal with

Cons. You can only get so much power out of the head.. you may need more than 300 watts..

Pros preamp/poweramp + cab

you can pick and choose everything, you aren't limited to one brand, If one thing on your rig breaks.. you aren't completely out of the game..

Cons. its alot more to deal with and it might cost more..

In the end, I went with a preamp, poweramp and Cab setup.. I am very happy with it
  3. sizz

Sep 23, 2002
    Bella Vista, AR
    I personally am about to move to up to a preamp->power amp->cabinet setup. I normally play through a SWR SM-500 (which is for sale in the Classifieds:) ) but I find myself running out of power on full-band gigs in medium to large rooms. I think that a big fat power amp will cure that. :D
  4. fivestringdan

fivestringdan Supporting Member

Dec 4, 2001
    Little Rock, AR