Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

head + homebuilt cab vs. inexpensive combo

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by new2bg, Dec 19, 2005.

1. new2bg

new2bg

Dec 18, 2005
    Southwestern OH
    I'm trying to decide whether to buy an inexpensive combo (Ibanez 65w or similar Peavy, or to buy a similarly priced head, such as the Ashdown Electric 180 to connect through a homebuilt cab. I'm a newbie and just got my first bass, but don't have an amp yet.

Here's the dope on the cab: It's 3/4" plywood, glued, screwed, and braced, literally built like a tank and darned near as heavy as one! Inside dimensions are: 28"W x 18"H x 9.5"D, for a total of 2.77 cu. ft. volume. Inside are two Pyle Driver 12" speakers of the type that are usually found in automotive applications. They're rated 95W each, and have 8 ohm voice coils. With the two of them paralleled, they present a 4 ohm load to the amp.

Either the head or the combo will set me back about $200-$250, but I'm undecided as to which direction to go. Any opinions?

TIA

John in SW OH

2. A combo would probably sound better, homemade cabs and automotive speakers dont tend to work too well as bass speakers

3. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    My opinion is to go with the Ibanez combo. It's a very good one. Also, if you are near a dealer take a look at the Yorkville sound combos. The XM210C puts out a lot of sound at a good price and will stand up to abuse. I used one for a year and it could handle small to medium club gigs with a too loud drummer and guitar player.

Those Pyle driveers are good for auto sound but are not good for electric bass. You could use them with a small head for low volume practice at home.

4. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design