Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Head + Power conditioner + Rack Tuner ???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lewibassist, May 12, 2004.

1. Hiya I am going to buy a Furman power conditioner and a Korg rack tuner and i want to put them into my rack.I have never realy understood how to link my head to the tuner then them both to the Power conditioner.I have a Warwick Profet IV head. Would i need any different leads or just a standard guitar lead.I am new to building up a rack. I have used the head only for such a long time.

Lewis

2. tornadobass

tornadobass Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Iowa City, Iowa
    Endorsing Artist: Black Diamond & SuperSensitive strings
    Hook the tuner to the head with a short guitar cord...shielded. Try both going from the tuner to the head's input and from the head to the tuner through either the line out/effect out or tuner out. In some cases, the tone will change running through the tuner first.

The furman just provides electrical power, so you simply plug both the tuner and the head into the furman and then use it to switch on both of them. You might want to buy or make a short cord from the amp to furman. The tuners have hardwired cords, so you're probably best just coiling it up with a velcro tie.

3. Planet Boulder

Planet Boulder Hey, this is a private residence...man Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2001
    6,482 feet above sea level
    I once had impure thoughts. Oh, and I pluck my ear hair.
    Just for clarification, by "plugging it in to the power conditioner", tornadobass is referring to the power cord of the amp and the tuner. Cables are not needed between power conditioners and those units.

Think of a power conditoner as a glorified power strip in the sense that you use it as the electrical center for your rack.