Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Headless bass owners: help with ball-end anchoring

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Taylor Livingston, Mar 31, 2003.

1. Taylor Livingston

Taylor Livingston Supporting Member Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    Louisiana, US
    Owner, Iron Ether Electronics
    Sorry about that rather undescriptive title. I'm not too good at coming up with titles.

I'm having an octave 10-string (doubled five) bass built, and the octave strings will tune at the bridge. I was wondering how to anchor the ball end of the octave strings at the headstock, and thought that I could get inspiration/actual parts from headless designs, the kind that use the double ball end.

I know Steingergers have holes that the balls go in, and I don't think that's an option. In what other ways do headless basses anchor the ball end? I thought I read that some basses/guitars have a post that the ball slides onto. Any thoughts?

2. Well, the old Kramer 8-strings just had holes drilled through the headstock for the octave strings, if I remember correctly.

One thing that might work is to use holes that don't go all the way through, but are sized so that you cal slide the ball end into them, like the Kubicki:

[​IMG]

Mike

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    The simplest (and most widely used) way would be an Allen screw. So also enables you to use single-ballend strings.

4. Taylor Livingston

Dec 25, 2002
    Louisiana, US