1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Headphones for transcribing

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Juggo, Jan 17, 2012.

1. Juggo

Juggo

Dec 29, 2006
    First of, I apologize if my question is in the wrong part of the forum which I somewhat suspect but ain't sure.

However, I would like to ask you guys who are great transcribers if you could recommend me nice headphones for transcribing, especially ones for really hard bass parts that somewhat fall bad into the mix. I thought of spending around 200$ dollars, I mean investing 200$. :D

Thanks in advance guys, cheers.

2. Reiver

Reiver

Jan 9, 2012
    Kansas
    While I'm very new to bass guitar, I've spent the last 20 years in public radio broadcasting, broadcast journalism, audio production, and video production. In my office, I currently have a pair of Sennheiser HD 650s that I use for video production, as my monitor headphones--that's what my last supervisor bought for us, because he thought they were the best. And for @ $400 a set, they are very nice.

But for my personal listening, and for recording out in the field, Sony seems to be the equipment of choice. I work in the communications department of a major university in the midwest, and we have several sets of Sony MDR 7506s that are found in recording studios and camera bags. I bought a pair of these (or maybe Sony's "consumer equivalent" at the time) in the early '90s... got eight or nine years out of them... and then bought a pair of Sony "DJ headphones" that are just about played out. Those are very similar to these MDR-V700DJs. Having that removable adapter is nice, as is the vinyl bag or pouch to store them in. These two Sony models are well under your $200 budget.