Heads, Amplifier,

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Donald Wormuth, May 7, 2021.

1. Okay, I'm looking into buying a head and cabinet. I'm a beginner and I don't have much experience with them. I've always used combos but I feel the need. To step up my game and equipment. At this time, I don't want a DI box. I want an amp and cabinet. These are the amps that I'm looking at currently.
    x Behringer Ultrabass BXL3000H Bass Amp Head.
    Behringer Ultrabass BX 4500H Bass Amp Head
    TC, Electronics BQ 500
    TC Electronics BQ250
    TC Electronics BH 250
    Then I am going to get a 2x10
    Most likely a,
    Behringer BA 2x10 500 watt
    And. Behringer Ultrabass BA 115 600-watt I'm also considering a 4x10 to combine with the 15. I don't know a lot about Class D amplifiers. Or even what that means. I want something that I'll have for a while and is going to last. The 2 Behringer's amps are used though I can get a 3000 new for 199. What are Ya'lls thoughts. I think the TC electronics are a pretty good idea. They also have an 800-watt model. Which is a little outside what I am budgeting. I've noticed on the back of some cabinets they have two 1/4-inch jacks. Some have a red on one and black ring on other. Is that a cross over. And if stacking them like the TC electronics only have 1 speaker output. So, do all cabinets have the ability to daisy-chain one too the next?

Last edited: May 7, 2021
    DJ Bebop likes this.
  2. ric4682

ric4682

Jul 2, 2008
    Hi Donald! You’re asking a lot of good questions, amps and cabs can be overwhelming when you start learning about them.

Behringer makes excellent stuff, but I personally feel the Ultrabass stuff is not great. They can work okay, but in my experience they just aren’t as reliable or loud and good sounding as other amps.