Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

heads that support 2 ohms

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Matt H, Aug 3, 2005.

1. Matt H

Matt H

Jul 30, 2005
    Ithaca, NY
    Hey guys! I'm still new around here (lurking for about five days, this is my third post). I've done a forum search, but it wasn't getting me anywhere fast.

Here's my question: does anyone have a list? (or would you mind chiming in) on amps that will handle 2 ohm loads? I realize i could visit all of of the manufacturers and look through each of their models, but that seems fairly unproductive.

I'm looking to get a bass head in the next year or so (currently have a little practice/combo that's doing just fine for right now). I'm new to bass, but have about 8 years under my belt as a guitarist.

I'm sad that the GK stuff doesn't seem to support 2 ohm operation, so I want to see what my other options are.

Thanks a ton for any and all information you throw my way!!!

2. Fretless5verfan

Fretless5verfan Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2002
    Philadelphia
    Number one head that comes to mind is EAs Iamp 800 watt head, gets 1000 at 2 ohms. and i think the Kustom Groovebass head goes down to 2 ohms as well.

Euphonic Audio Kustom Amps

3. Passinwind

Passinwind I Know Nothing Supporting Member

4. the Peavey Firebass, Nitrobass and Deltabass ( Max 700, 450 and 160 ) handle 2 ohm loads, as do ampeg SVT's

5. Yamaha bbt 500h 250 watts 4 ohms, 500 watts 2 ohms

6. Joe Beets

Joe Beets Guest

Nov 21, 2004
    How about the Mesa Big Block 750 at 2 ohms? Can I run one of these turned up all the way, into a 2 ohm load for 10 hours straight? What's the story on this unit? :eyebrow:

7. Blues Cat

Blues Cat Supporting Member

May 28, 2005
    Katy, Tx
    Carvin B1500 @ 2oHms is 1900 watts.

8. Why 2ohms? If you need to run an amp at 2ohms to get enough power out of it you really need a bigger amp.