1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Heard Marcus Miller's tracks on George Benson's new album today...

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Sparkdog, Mar 29, 2009.

1. Sparkdog

Sparkdog Supporting Member

Sep 18, 2006
    Burbank, CA
    And all I can say is WOW!

My day job is doing commercial photography and I shoot lots of music related stuff. Today I got a call from West LA Music to come down and shoot at Village Recorders as George Benson and Marcus Miller were laying down tracks for George's new album.

I spent about 4 hours at the studio, shooting mostly candids as George did vocal and guitar overdubs. Unfortunately Marcus never showed up, I guess his tracks were all done and he didn't need to be there for the dubs. I think he's also producing this record.

But I got to hear all 11 tracks through state-of-the art monitors (for those who may not know it, Village Recorders is a world class studio that's done more platinum records than you could count) and man oh man...Marcus just kills it on every track.

Benson is a jazz guitarist of course, and sort of in the "smooth jazz" mold, which has never really been my cup of tea, but the sheer brilliance of the playing just makes all that labeling stuff irrelevant. I got to be in the vocal booth with him while he did some guitar and vocal dubs and it gave me chills...the man is CRAZY talented.

There were funky tunes, some pretty avant garde jazz, a cover of "Sailing" of all things, which was just unbelievably gorgeous, and even a crazy scat/rap sort of thing, which I watched George lay down.

Marcus' tone and textures were just perfection on every track, it was easy to see why he's so in demand.

I'll post some pics once I clear it with my client, but for now I just wanted to share, I was really stoked when I left the studio.