1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Hearing back recordings... I have no sense of rhythm!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by COLDGLU, Jun 29, 2017.

1. COLDGLU

COLDGLU

Aug 29, 2016
    Okay, I've been playing for 9 years, but this year I decided to get serious about bass. I've been recording myself to actually listen to what I'm playing and god, it's horrible!

I have no sense of rhythm and I'm playing everything off-beat. I've been in multiple bands and everybody has told me I was fine, when asked for feedback. However, listening back to myself, I sound dreadful.

An example:

Anybody else find this?

Note: I used Focusrite and played this through Audacity.

2. Flippy

Flippy

Jun 9, 2017
    Europe
    Hmm, it sounds a bit as if the bass track wasn't in sync with the audio. If that's not the case, try increasing/decreasing the volume of your bass vs the audio so that you hear both comfortably.

(btw judging from the avatar and music choice I have no other option than to assume you're my twin)

3. SpazzTheBassist

SpazzTheBassist

Jun 20, 2006
    hmmm....the thing is, although the note velocities in your delivery are up and down (compressor would help here), the timing between them seems fine, just not in sync with the track......you may want to check the latency on your recording interface/software....Look at the actual bass track and see if they are all falling roughly in the same spot in relationship to the bar-line. If all the notes are doing this, you may have a latency issue -- you can either (A) move the entire track or (B) try to adjust the latency in the software

4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    Yes, you're sloppy as **** - and it's a very good thing that you're aware of this! It's the first step to overcoming your limitations.