1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Heartbreaking Jam Session Experience

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Trayster2, Jun 18, 2017.

1. Trayster2

Trayster2

Aug 13, 2012
    I was hanging out with friends this Friday night and to make a long story short, it turned into an impromptu jam session. This guy had a music room with guitars & a drum set. At one point, I slipped onto drums & explained I hadn't played since 8th grade (& I only played for 2 years), I just wanted to try out these electronic drums. Well, we played a few songs and they all said I was a better drummer than bass player. Went home heartbroken after 5 years of lessons, time, effort & money spent. Plus I ❤️ bass.

Has it all been a waste? Should my next "bass" be an Alesis or Roland? Just wondered if this has ever happened to anyone & what did you do afterwards?
    Thanks in advanced.

Gaolee, Stumbo, Smooth_bass88 and 6 others like this.
  2. Howlin' Hanson

Howlin' Hanson Lighter cabs, please. Supporting Member

Sep 3, 2007
    Austin TX
    Do what you love.

RaggaDruida, Tbone76, ialma and 23 others like this.
  3. Stevorebob

Stevorebob Well... I Am Here, Aren't I? Supporting Member

Sep 29, 2011
    Los Angeles
    Yeah, but really, who wants to be a drummer? Go with your heart.

4. hondo4life

hondo4life

Feb 29, 2016
    SC
    Love what you do.

:cigar:

Leiria, gregoire1, lowplaces and 2 others like this.
  5. GKon

GKon Supporting Member, Boom-Chicka-Boom

Feb 17, 2013
    Queens, NY
    Ouch. I can see why that might bother you. But, if you love bass, play bass! They probably were overreacting, anyway. Even if they weren't, do what you love.

Trayster2 likes this.
  6. back4more

back4more Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2007
    Oakland, CA