Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Heavy Metal bassist here.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by AcousticBass, May 30, 2005.

1. AcousticBass

AcousticBass

May 28, 2005
    Hey im a heavy metal/solo bassist, i was wondering what pedals are essential for that line of work.

2. depends wot sound your goin for! theres no essentials just what you thin sounds good.

Personally I use an ODB 3 boss distortion pedal (Its **** though) a Morley power wah and a boss chorus pedal. But thats because i like the whole cliff burton distortion thing. Just depens what you like!

3. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I would check out a Big Muff and a wah pedal if I were you. Chorus is pretty useful, but other than that, I don't find I need much when playing metal.

Can you give an example of what sounds you are looking for?

4. Petary791

Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    +1 on the fuzz and wah. Cliff is a man and a god. Check out Geezer and Steve Harris too.

5. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
    Overdrive - Check out a Rust Ride if you have the dime; if you are tight on money try a DOD250

Fuzz - If you have the money, get a Depth Charge. It'll keep your definition with the clean blend function. If you are on a budget get a Big Muff.

Wah - There really are two main camps in the wah category, Dunlop and Morley. You will have to play one to see which one is your sound.

Good luck

6. Funky Tune

Funky Tune

Apr 28, 2005
    Puerto Rico
    me,only bass ball for metal
    [​IMG]

7. fatbassjazzer

fatbassjazzer

Feb 27, 2004
    ATL
    I use a boss odb-3 pedal and a boss cs compressor pedal. does the job just fine for me.

8. protoz

protoz

Nov 30, 2000
    Iowa
    Over drive my tubes and go balls to the wall since I have a problem with killing pedals for some reason.