Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

heavy metal: esp or pbass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by coolsnow7, Feb 22, 2004.

esp or pbass?

Poll closed Feb 29, 2004.
  1. esp

34.9%
  2. pbass

65.1%
  1. coolsnow7

coolsnow7

Feb 22, 2004
    im a complete noob, and im trying to learn to play heavy metal bass, specifically thrash, and should i buy a bass from esp or get a pbass? all i know is that the esp one that im looking at has great reviews

2. natrab

natrab

Dec 9, 2003
    Bay Area, CA
    ESP makes decent instruments. I've had a couple of their mid-range guitars and they were right up there with the MIM Fenders.

An ESP will serve you well if you get it. However so would a P-bass.

3. Oliver

Oliver

Jun 21, 2003
    Perth, Australia
    yeah Smash hit the nail on the head regarding re-sale value.
    go with what ever man, i used to have 2 esp's now i got 1 left. I love it...try the new F models or even B models, even the older stuff by ESP is killer.

Honestly the best way is to play them both, then you'll know:)

4. Toasted

Toasted

May 26, 2003
    Leeds, UK
    Depends if you're talking heavy metal like Iron Maiden, or Heavy Metal, asin say, CHimaria.

5. Mike N

Mike N Missing the old TB

Jan 28, 2001
    New York
    Maiden uses/used ESP?

I thought Steve's arsenal consisted of a P, an IbAnEz, and a Lado.

6. As far as i know Steve has never used an ESP? Do you have an article or something we can check out SMASH?

They would both do the job fine...i have tried many ESP's, and they are great basses for their price range. Comfortable and quite versatile. P's will work in pretty much anything...its a win win situation IMO.
    Personally even though ESP's arent bad i would go with a P, mostly cause i like the looks feel and the sound better IMO.

7. brake

brake

Jun 23, 2003
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I'd get a Ric.