Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Helicore orchestra or Obligatos?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Hortense&bow, Apr 16, 2002.

1. Hortense&bow

Hortense&bow

Apr 15, 2002
    Hi everybody,

I am a newbie, starting a new thread was the only way I found to post this.

A lot of helpfull informations browsing your discussions on string. However I haven't found the answer to my dilemna.

My set Helicores orchestra is getting tired. They have been for 3 years on my late 19th Century Mirecourt (Hortense). For now I almost exclusively bow, for orchestra playing. So the question: buy the same ones and stay out of trouble, or try something else like the Obligatos that many of you have been recommending and start torturing myself with strings dilemna?

I was realy pleased when I set up the Helicores. The bass sounded like I could not remember it.
    New black hair on my bow and fine set up of the bass that happened around the same time probably helped. But all I had to compare to on the same bass, was the by then old unknown strings my teachers had put years before when he borrowed the bass from me for an orchestra audition ( I bought the bass from him - it had been his prefred audition bass for years). He put new strings then and left them to me to thank me: all I know is that they had red silk and I found them hard on the left hand to play (but at the time I found it hard to ajust to any change). Could they have been Spirocores? (my teacher was of the athletic type with huge hands, and I suspect he could have enjoyed strings everybody else finds impossible to bow).