Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

helllllp!! i'm stuck in the blues

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by soundofphysics, Aug 26, 2000.

1. soundofphysics

soundofphysics

Jul 17, 2000
    i have a pretty well stacked arsenal of scales, and i'm equally influenced by jazz as i am the blues themselves- but whenever i sit down to jsut jam with soem folks my hands jump straigh to the pentatonics et all. I alwyas try to keep my scales tight so i practice them enough, and right songs in all kinds of 'em, but it doesn't seem to help. anybody got any ideas. Maybe its a sign, lol maybe i'm stuck with the blues.

J-P

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I'm no real expert, but I think one answer is to build up scales out of thirds, continually moving across the fingerboard and practising using the upper extensions of chords. The other things is to concentrate on the notes which make the chords distinctive - pentatonic playing usually avoids this. Look for how you can fit these notes in - there are quite a lot of books out there which will be a great help. I can recommend the "Jazz Theory Book" by Mark Levine and others have pointed to this as a good source.

One thing that helped me a lot with this, was to choose a song (Jazz Standard) that had a lot of chords and key changes and to really study it and then try to find as many ways as possible though the chords, so that you can still hear the changes but avoiding root motion. I'm sure others will have better tips on this...

3. soundofphysics

soundofphysics

Jul 17, 2000
    thankx, that is a pretty darn good idea, now if only i get get my guitarist to learn some jazz structure- their all they're same arn't they- premadonna's, lol

4. top028

top028

Dec 14, 1999
    Lancaster, PA