1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Hello from Massachusetts!

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by BayStateBass, Jan 25, 2012.

1. Hi everyone, just wanted to stop in and say hello and introduce myself.

I live in Central Mass, have been married for almost 15 years (21 years with her, though), and have two kids, 10 and 7 y/o. I work as an HVAC mechanic for an oil company, right now I manage the service department. I love motorcycles, cars, movies, and, most importantly, music. My family is my #1 priority and they inspire me to be better, every day.

About two years ago I decided to do something I always wanted to do........learn to play the guitar. So I started with a Squier Strat-knockoff beginner package and got to work. I realized pretty quickly that I couldn't learn from a video, so I got "professional help", in the form of....lessons. At the time, I wasn't sure if I wanted to learn to play bass or guitar, but originally I chose guitar. I like playing the guitar, but always found myself drawn to bass lines in music, and whenever I had the chance to pick up a bass, I would. About 8 or 9 months ago I decided that the guitar was okay, but bass really got me excited. I borrowed a Peavey Zodiac 4 string from my father (it was just collecting dust...ha ha) and asked my guitar instructor if he could teach me the bass. He agreed, and it has been my main instrument for a while now.

I feel like I've made a lot of progress and I can actually play some music....:)

In any case, I'm certainly far from an expert, I'm really just starting out, so I probably will have a lot of questions, some may seem simple or basic to the members here, but there's a lot I don't know....

But I'm learning.

In any case, hello to everyone and I hope to get a lot of good information here!!!