Hello from SoCal

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by the_stonesteels, Feb 17, 2009.

1. Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie to the forum as well as the Bass Community itself. I'm a 27 yr old musician. But man I'm really excited to learn the Bass!!! As cliche and trivially monotonous as it sounds, Flea is my top bassist and he's been inspiring me with his music (of course) but also on a lot of his viewpoints, quotes on music as well. I also love Gary Grainger... I saw him on my John Blackwell DVD... He plays bass without effort and looks like he's just enjoying the moment. Honestly speaking, I've heard of Geddy Lee since I've been following Neil P for quite some time but i've never really paid attention to the bass work for rush (just being honest.) So, i'm gonna be checkin out his videos and who knows i might be blown away too! I've seen Jaco basses on MF but i've never really seen him play, although i know he's great. I'll go check him out as well.

Yesterday's been my first actual sit down practice and so far I've learned 5 songs... (and i'm sure most of the kids who grew up here in the 80s-90s had "With or Without You" on one of the first learned bass songs list hehe.

Drums will always be my first love. I've been playing for the past 15 or so years. But I've also been playing acoustic and electric guitar for quite some time as well. I also learned how to play the piano/keyboards when i was in grade school since my dad is a Jazz aficionado. I also recently bought a Gibson Les Paul Studio Plus in desertburst along with my bass. i both love em!

GEAR: 1998 Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass, GK 700rb, GK410RBH and soon planning to get a Tech 21 Sansamp Programmable DI