Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

'Hello, Goodbye' (How do I play this measure?)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Harry Lime, Feb 12, 2002.

1. If any of you have the bass musical notation for 'Hello, Goodbye' by The Beatles please Help! I will type it out for you for those who don't. I'm a way beginner at bass and this is like the first song I'm trying to learn out of the Beatles bass book I bought.

Okay, it's the seventh measure. Here's the tab:

March:

///1//&/////2/////&//////3//&//4//&
    G-----------------------------------
    D-----------------------------------
    A----5-2--5-2--5-2--------2--5-----
    E-3--------------------3--5-----------

These are eighth notes 1&2&3&4&. Those "5-2's" confuse me. I've seen that before and didn't understand what it meant. How can I play two notes and still have it be eighth notes?

2. Looks like a typo in the tab. It should read like this:

G---------------
    D---------------
    A--5 2 5--- 2 5-
    E-3----- 3 5----

All the notes are straight eighths.

3. Nope...That's how it is in the music notation. It's almost as if you were strumming the two notes at the same time...but that is impossible. Thanks for trying to help, though. Doesn't look like too many people visit this section....

4. What book?

I have "The complete Beatles"

7th measure. I have 1/8th notes straight.

G,D,B,D
    G,A,B,D

that would make 4.

5. Okay, I have The Beatles Complete Scores too. I just took a look in there and yeah like you said that's what it says. I really don't see how this bass book made a typo, that's gotta mean something, I just don't know what. But I will play that measure the way it says in the SCORES book for now until my lesson on Friday.