Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Hello! Tips for a nOOb?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by maggot*, Oct 27, 2003.

1. The purpose of my post is two-fold... one is to just say "hey", I'm new to the forums and it truly looks like you have a cool bunch of people here!:D

Also, I'm new to the bass and wanted to get some tips/things to avoid from the more seasoned players/members out there. I've been a drummer for about nine years and, as a result, have developed a solid rhythmic sense - that part of the bass comes easy. However, this is my first STRINGED instrument (please spare me the "welcome to a real instrument jokes";) ).

Anyhow, I've been playing about one month and am taking to the instrument relatively quickly and I just love it! I guess what I am looking for is advice as far as practicing: approach to practice and what has helped you be the most productive and advance quickly in your studies.

I've made an effort to be tough on myself early as far as hand positioning, proper posture etc. I am playing finger style on a 34" scale 2-octave (24 fret) 4 string Schecter Stiletto bass. Thanks in advance for your help and it's good to be here!:D :bassist:

2. hey welcome to talkbass... good advise? leave now you still can.. this site is extremely addictive and WIL destroy your family and social life.. he he just kiddin'

erm .. btw.. congrats with switching to a real intrument.. (sorry someone has to do that.. cud have been me aswel as any of the 35,978 others that hang around here all day)

as for advise.. wait for experienced players to reply, i'm a n00b myself :)

goodluck with it

3. CS Bass

CS Bass

Feb 18, 2003
    This approach helps me learn the quickest:

1. Get a teacher in the beginning.
    2. Always practice with a metronome, even if you are a drummer. :)