1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hello!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Libertine, Oct 25, 2006.

1. Libertine

Libertine

Oct 25, 2006
    Hi. New bass player here (playing on friends bass, buying my own now), been reading your site for a few days. Seem like a nice and informative bunch of chaps.

And so without further ado, a question. Well, more of a long convoluted ranting question, but a question all the same:

I want my own bass, buy do not know where to start. My friend is no professional when it comes to bass, he just knows how to play by ear well, feel the groove, but he doesn't know much about the different brands of bass, sound quality, etc, so I can't go asking him for help. I am a student on Maui, boarding, so on weekdays from 4:00-10:00 I really have nothing to do other than teach myself an instrument, and I love bass.

I have spent a few weeks looking around for a bass, and I've settled on a Traben (Torrent 4). Its in my pricerange, looks pretty damned sexy (SEXEH! :D), and sounds nice (to my untrained newbie ears, heh).

Would you recommend one for a first bass? The few reviews I've found online are very favorable.

Aloha,
    Kahiapo

2. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Aloha!

Check out www.rondomusic.net

They're favoured here on TB and they're great beginner basses, and a killer price!

Welcome to the Low End!

-mark

3. Obese Chess

Obese Chess Spicy Big Dad Supporting Member

Sep 4, 2005
    Portland, OR
    I personally can't stand Trabens, but if you think they sound good, then that's all that matters!

Welcome aboard!

4. Libertine

Libertine

Oct 25, 2006
    Any recommendation for which one? A lot ceaper than a traben, nice classic-y look to them, and a lot of you swear by ém?